top of page
  • Writer's pictureGracie Cirillo

Staff Spotlight: Mrs. Taylor



Mrs. Taylor is a math teacher here at Middle Creek High School and has been teaching here for the past 20 years. Mrs. Taylor is also the advisor of the Math Honor Society and co-advisor for National Honor Society. She was born in Ohio but moved to North Carolina when she was about five years old, which led to her eventually attending Fuquay-Varina High School.


Mrs. Taylor says, “I knew I always wanted to be a teacher, but not what subject until high school.” She says she took as many math classes as she could in high school to learn as much about the subject as she could and that she thoroughly enjoyed every math class she took.


She received a Math degree and teaching licensure from Elon University and then proceeded to attend NC State for her masters in Math Education. Mrs. Taylor described her college experience. “Elon is a smaller school, so most of my class sizes were like in high school. That was nice because it did not feel as overwhelming. The math department at Elon was so great, I felt connected and it was easy to get involved with activities and events in the department and at the school. I tried to participate in various events and activities when I had time.” The reason she decided to go to college there is because she received a scholarship as a North Carolina teaching Fellow.


As we all know, COVID took a huge toll on everyone in America, but Mrs. Taylor seems to have a positive outlook on it. She states, “it forced me to record/save my notes after lessons and look for additional videos for students. This has helped this year, as I can share them with students who may have missed class or needed to hear it again.”


Personally, Mrs.Taylor is one of my favorite teachers that I have had. Even though I hate math, she is an amazing math teacher and does everything she can to make sure you understand the material, and you can tell everyday that she loves teaching. Mrs. Taylor believes that her colleagues in the math department see her as dependable and goes on to state, “When we talk about content they value my opinion and knowledge.”


Overall, Mrs. Taylor is one of the best math teachers I have had in a long time and I appreciate everything she does for me and her other students.


57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page