top of page
  • Writer's pictureCooper Young

Staff Spotlight: Mr. McQuiston

Over time, Middle Creek High School has accumulated many notable teachers that actively help improve the school and its students. Of these teachers, a clear standout is Middle Creek’s Physics and Astronomy teacher, Andrew McQuiston, otherwise known as Mr. McQ.

Mr. McQuiston teaches Astronomy at Middle Creek

Mr. McQ has been teaching for fifteen years, with Middle Creek being his third school. Mr. McQ has “never been kicked out of a school,” he describes. “I’ve always left because it was my idea… that sounds awful.” This is his fifth year at Middle Creek. Initially, he taught at Green Hope High School for three years, and before this, he was teaching at Thomas Edison High School in Alexandria, Virginia.

Mr. McQ attended the University of Pittsburgh, where he received a Bachelor's degree in Physics. After earning his Bachelor’s degree, he took classes at Ducane University, also in Pittsburgh, where he earned his Masters in Education.

After graduate school, Mr. McQ got his first full-time job as a metallurgical technician; however, according to Mr. McQ, “the company was clearly moving its operations to China.” Given his new circumstances, he decided to pursue a teaching career. “Since I had spent all my time learning physics, I wanted to do something using the physics that I learned.”

Apart from teaching, McQ is also the Science Olympiad coach. He helps the students prepare for their different events, such as Astronomy or Forensics. Eleazer Amene, a freshman at Middle Creek, really enjoys participating in Science Olympiad with the help of Mr. McQ. “He guides me on what I need to practice, and I can practice on my own.” He explains, “He lets me know about the things I need to improve, and what I need to study more, which helps me become a better competitor.”

Mr. McQ is a valuable teacher. His focus is on helping others. Mr. McQ wants to do what he can to not only make the school a better place, but also help students learn and grow.


81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page