top of page
  • Writer's picturePaige Herschman

Pet Peeves at Middle Creek

What is your biggest pet peeve? It might be people who chew with their mouth open, slow walkers, or something completely random. I talked to three Middle Creek High School freshmen and one teacher to see what their biggest pet peeves are and they all had similar answers.


Our first student is a freshman, Jace Wynn, and his biggest pet peeve is when people interrupt him when he’s already engaged in a conversation with someone else “because it’s the rudest one and it affects how I talk to people, and I’m a people pleaser so I like to balance the conversation.” That bothers him the most because “it’s just rude.” When Wynn was asked how it makes him feel he said, jokingly, “Angry, I want to punch them when they do it.” Wynn also mentions that people who do it the most are “socially unaware,” which gets on his nerves because of “the fact that they’re being so rude.” After being asked if this is a common pet peeve, Wynn replied with, “Yes, I’d say that’s common. I hope.”


I also interviewed Ashley Hathaway, a Middle Creek freshman. Her biggest pet peeve is “people chewing loudly.” It bothers Hathaway because “it makes a loud, annoying noise.” She experiences this most when she is having dinner with her family, specifically her brother. “We were at dinner and my brother was chewing loudly and I got very annoyed, then we got into an argument.” This makes Hathaway feel irritated because it’s just bad manners.”

Brady Proctor, another freshman at Middle Creek, said his biggest pet peeve is also loud chewing. It bothers him the most because the sound annoys him.” Proctor also says it distracts him, and it makes him “want to smack them.” Proctor then added that he sees this the most on his TikTok for you page.

My biggest pet peeve is similar to the previous ones: it’s people who chew with their mouths open. It gets on my nerves because no one wants to see your food chewed up in your mouth; it’s gross. My sister chews with her mouth open quite frequently, and I constantly tell her to stop but most times she just ignores me, which makes me very annoyed. Another thing about people chewing with their mouths open is that you can hear the food in their mouths being chewed. I do not want to hear you chewing your food as I am trying to enjoy my dinner.

Mr. Agoncillo, a speech and English 3 teacher, was also interviewed about his biggest pet peeve. Mr. Agoncillo’s biggest pet peeve is people using “the pronoun ‘we’ when doing chores. I don’t like it when people say ‘we’ should do this but really mean I should do it.” He experienced this “the last time my wife asked ‘us’ to do something but really meant I needed to do it.” Mr. Agoncillo also added, “It makes me feel angst.” He doesn’t consider this a common pet peeve and he experiences it the most with his wife.

Overall it seems like Middle Creek students should work on their manners at lunch and continue to be socially aware. What are your pet peeves?


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page